Understanding REALTOR® Designations

Becoming a REALTOR® requires education and a commitment to ethics beyond that necessary for earning one's real estate license. Additionally, some REALTORS® choose to further their education in specific areas of the real estate industry by earning designations. Some of the most common REALTOR® designations are listed below.

ABR (Accredited Buyer Representative) – Identifies REALTORS® who are trained to work specifically with home buyers to negotiate the best possible prices and terms for clients.

ABRM (Accredited Buyer Representative Manager) – REALTORS® who have special training in managing agents.

ALC (Accredited Land Consultant) – REALTORS® who are experts in the following transactions: farm and ranch; undeveloped tracts of land; transitional and development land; subdivision and wholesaling of lots; and site selection and assemblage of land parcels.

ARM (Accredited Residential Manager) – Signifies REALTORS® knowledgeable in all aspects of buyer representation.

CCIM (Certified Commercial Investment Member) – Identifies REALTORS® with expertise in commercial real estate brokerage, leasing, valuation and investment analysis.

CIPS (Certified International Property Specialist) – Denotes REALTORS® who focus specifically on the international market.

CPM (Certified Property Manager) – Identifies REALTORS® educated in all areas of real estate management, from residential to commercial to industrial.

CRB (Certified Real Estate Broker Manager) – A designation reserved for managers who have additional education in training agents and marketing.

CRE (Counselor of Real Estate) – Denotes members of the exclusive international Counselors of Real Estate group, which provides seasoned, objective advice on property and land-related matters.

CRS (Certified Residential Specialist) – The CRS designation recognizes residential sales associates for their professional accomplishments in both experience and education.

GAA (Graduate REALTOR® Institute) – The GRI designation demonstrates REALTORS®’ commitment to advancing their knowledge in many aspects of the real estate profession.

GREEN REALTORS® with the GREEN Designation have a broad understanding of energy efficiency, sustainability, smart growth, industry ratings and evaluation standards in real estate.

GRI (Graduate REALTOR® Institute) – The GRI designation demonstrates REALTORS®’ commitment to advancing their knowledge in many aspects of the real estate profession.

PMN (Performance Management Network) – Signifies REALTORS® who are dedicated to improving their skills in negotiating strategies and tactics, networking and referrals, cultural differences in buying and selling and more.

RAA (Residential Accredited Appraiser) – Denotes appraisers whose education and experience exceed state appraisal certification requirements.

RCE (REALTOR® Association Certified Executive) – Signifies REALTORS® who are recognized for their specialized industry knowledge and association achievements and experience.

SIOR (Society of Industrial and Office REALTORS®) – Identifies top producers in industrial and office real estate brokerage.

SRES (Seniors Real Estate Specialist) – REALTORS® with the SRES designation understand the specific needs of home buyers and sellers ages 55 and over.

We are Your Advocate

Sign up for updates about your property rights.

Sign Up


Locate an agent in your area

Property Search

Find properties in Austin
  • More Search Options   »